My Secret Compost Garden

Amelia Dellos
5 min readAug 19, 2021

What happens when a reluctant gardener starts to compost? Read on to find out how through composting I found myself.

If I’m completely honest, I never set out to be an urban gardener or an urban composter, for that matter. A few years ago, when my neighbor Ms. Diane flew away to Mexico for her long-anticipated retirement, I took on our building’s communal garden. She left big gardening clogs to fill. Ms. Diane’s garden was a tribute to wildflowers of the Midwest, and it took hours to maintain. At the time, I didn’t really have any idea what I was taking under my purview. I didn’t have a…

--

--

Amelia Dellos

I’m Amelia. As a storytelling siren, media maven, and writer whisperer (a.k.a writing coach), I believe a well-crafted story can change the world.